17. září  2018 v 12:48  rubrika: Title - Classical

Divertimento for Wind Quintet, Op. 10 - Viktor Kalabis

Divertimento pro dechové kvinteto, op. 10 - Viktor Kalabis - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Divertimento pro dechové kvinteto, op. 10 - Viktor KalabisFoto: Nakladatelství ČRo

In 1952, Viktor Kalabis, a fresh graduate from the Academy of Performing Arts, was encouraged to compose a composition for a brass quintet.

The radio dramaturgist František Alois Tichý chose the instruments and set the character of the whole composition. It was supposed to be an undemanding composition that could be included in programmes for a broad audience. The composition was commissioned in the autumn of 1952.  

Already the title Divertimento refers to the playfulness and the easy structure of the composition. With its clear harmonic structure, it is easily comprehensible and differs musically from other Kalabis’ compositions. The composer had usually presented his musical individuality in a stylistically different kind of music. Still, he numbered Divertimento with an opus number (op.10) since he considered it a composition that meets the requirements of the commission. However, after it was composed, it was included among compositions “of a rather serious genre and character“.  

The folklore themes are arranged in divertimento in a neo-classicist way. In every movement, we can find the main melodic lines in one or two instruments. The themes follow one another very simply and naturally. The harmonic structure is not too dense so we can easily recognize the simple accompanying lines that complete the harmonic structure of individual parts. The composer paid attention to the natural character of each instrument and he used it successfully for the folklore undertone of the whole composition. Most of the solo entrances are played by the clarinet and the flute. However, other instruments are not overshadowed. The composer leaves enough space for musicians’ own invention when grasping the folklore themes. The viability of the composition has been verified by several decades. 

The composition has become one of author’s most played chamber compositions. 

Other compositions by Viktor Kalabis printed in Czech Radio:
Tristium, Fantasia Concertante for Viola and String Orchestra, Op. 56 / piano score (orchestral score and parts only for hire) 

instrumentationfl, ob, cl in Bb, cor in F, fg
descriptionscore, parts
publ.NoR 406
price290,- CZK

Downloadable Catalogues

    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2019 Český rozhlas