19. července  2011  rubrika: Title - Classical

Solo for Double-bass - Jiří Teml

Jiří Teml - Solo for Double-bass - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Jiří Teml - Solo for Double-bassFoto: Nakladatelství ČRo

“The initiative leading to the composition of the SOLO for double-bass came from Mr Jiří Pichlík, a member of the organization committee of Simandl’s double-bass competition and a double-bass player with the Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra of South Bohemia. The piece opens with a cryptogram referring to Simandl’s name that makes use of the chromatic scale tones and the solmization syllables. In the case of the letter “n” I used the “damenization” system proposed by Karl Heinrich Graun in the 1st half of the 18th century (da, me, ni, po, tu, la, be). I tried to use also the lower register of the instrument. The rich experience of Mr Radomír Žalud, a professor at the HAMU and the leader of the double-bass section of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, proved more than useful during the revision of the instrumental part.”

Jiří Teml was initially an economist. From 1964 to 1974 he took composition lessons from Jiří Jaroch. From 1979 to 1980 he worked at Czech Radio in Plzeň and from 1980 he worked as a musical dramaturge at Czech Radio in Prague. After a period of rather traditional composition by the end of the 70’s he shifted his focus to New music (Three bagatelles for violin, oboe, clarinet and piano – 1977). He transforms the components of folk music to artificial music (Three promenades for orchestra – 1983, Second symphony „The War with Newts“ – 1987). Teml consciously tries to give his music a Czech accent, both encoded in the melody and rhythm of his language and in his choice of instrumental combinations. 

Other compositions by Jiří Teml published in Czech Radio:
Concerto grosso No. 3
Concerto № 1 for Organ, Trumpets, Strings and Percussion
Concerto per clavicembalo ed orchestra da camera
Concerto rustico per salterio ed archi
String Quartet No. 5
Symphony No. 3 "Kafka" 


instrumentationcb solo
publ.NoR 235
price75,- CZK

Downloadable Catalogues


    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2018 Český rozhlas