10. prosince  2009  rubrika: Title - Classical

String Quartet No. 1, op. 8 - Vítězslava Kaprálová

Vítězslava Kaprálová - String Quartet No. 1, op. 8 - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Vítězslava Kaprálová - String Quartet No. 1, op. 8Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915 - 1940) composed the three-movement String Quartet opus 8 in summer 1935 almost entirely during her holiday sojourn at a place she liked most: in a small village called Three Wells (Tři Studně) amidst the beautiful countryside of the Czech-Moravian Highlands.

The music of the quartet reflects the joy and self-assurance stemming from the recent success of her graduate's concert in Brno; she wrote as she felt. The nature of the piece is that of an undisturbed and worriless atmosphere of relaxation. It is an immediate reaction to the composer's life experiences; a bridge that unites the school and study period and the real life of an artist. 

Other compositions by Vítězslava Kaprálová published in Czech Radio:
Christmas Prelude
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D Minor
Military Sinfonietta op. 11
Partita for piano and string orchestra
Sad evening
Suita rustica 


instrumentationvnoI, vnoII, vla, vcl
descriptionscore, parts
publ.NoR 168
price280,- CZK

Downloadable Catalogues


    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2018 Český rozhlas

    Tento web používá k analýze návštěvnosti soubory cookie. Používáním tohoto webu s tím souhlasíte. Další informace