8. prosince  2011  rubrika: Title - Classical

Symphony No. 4 for String Orchestra - Zdeněk Šesták

Zdeněk Šesták - Symphony No. 4 for String Orchestra - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Zdeněk Šesták - Symphony No. 4 for String OrchestraFoto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Following are the author’s contemplations over the score of his 5th Symphony: “Unlike all my other six symphonies, which make use of all the instruments of the grand orchestra, this work is set only for strings. I have always found the sound of a large strings section very attractive – even fascinating – for the breath-taking acoustic potential of the divided and sub-divided plenum that is multiplied by the explosive, hard-bitten, almost mechanically rhythmicized sonority on the one hand, and the innermost, fragile, and subtly generated meaningfulness on the other. These are the preconceptions underlying my attempt in this demanding piece to materialize my aesthetic notions that are rather more apt to being expressed as a matter-of-fact statement of an opinion.

Both the first and the last of the three movements are full of life and uncompromising energy; its ethos contains an almost elementary joy of movement that is enhanced by instrumental virtuosity. The middle free movement stands in a stark contrast to these two: inspired by the sudden passing away of my colleague František Vrána, a composer and a long-standing director for the Czech Radio, the music is the expression of a sorrowful, almost motionless contemplation of the loss. Composing the symphony, I was thinking of the Prague Chamber Orchestra, which also turned out to be the ensemble that premiered the piece at the Czech Radio, conducted by František Vajnar.”
Zdeněk Šesták 

Other compositions by Zdeněk Šesták published in Czech Radio:
Concerto for violoncello and orchestra No. 2 "The Way of Knowledge"
Musica bizzarra per fagotto e pianoforte
Three Pieces for Clarinet and Piano 


Parts only for hire at nakladatelstvi@rozhlas.cz 

publ.NoR 234
price300,- CZK

Downloadable Catalogues

    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2019 Český rozhlas