3. ledna  2013 v 11:31  rubrika: Title - Historical Series

String Quartet in B flat Major - Franz Xaver Richter (ed. Marek Štryncl)

String Quartet B flat Major - Franz Xaver Richter - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

String Quartet B flat Major - Franz Xaver RichterFoto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Richter belongs to the large number of Czech composers and musicians who spent most of their careers abroad.

His output within the field of chamber music is particularly significant: apart from a number of sonatas, trios, and divertimentos, what really stands out are his seven string quartets. What is certain, however, is that Richter’s unique contribution here lies in his ability to apply the polyphonic style in music of lighter nature and in secular pieces. The style thus finds its way into unprecedented forms and contexts, doing so with an intensity unrivalled by any of his contemporaries, or even by J. Haydn. 

The source for the publication of the String Quartet B-flat Major by František Xaver Richter was the oldest preserved source whose date of origin is certain and certifiable. It is the print issued in London, which contains six of Richter’s quartets and was published in 1768. Three other sources have served as comparative material: the edition of six quartets printed in Paris in c1772. 

Other compositions by F. X. Richter published in Czech Radio:
String Quartet in C major 

instrumentationvno I, vno II, vla, vcl
descriptionscore, parts
publ.No.R 212
price160 CZK

Downloadable Catalogues

    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2019 Český rozhlas