20. února  2017 v 11:26  rubrika: Title - Historical Series

Symphony no. 7 A major - Leopold Koželuh

Koželuh Leopold - Symfonie č. 7 A dur (ed. Eva Čierna - Tornová) - Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Koželuh Leopold - Symfonie č. 7 A dur (ed. Eva Čierna - Tornová)Foto: Nakladatelství ČRo

Koželuh wrote most of his symphonies in 1780s. Stylistically, he builds on the ideal of Vienna Classicism which he accomplishes in a very original and natural way, without overcoming it.

This edition of Symphony in A major by Leopold Koželuh is based on two sources kept in the National Museum - the Czech Museum of Music . The original source was a Vienna print of parts from that time from the collection of Jan Pohl kept under a call number V B 205 , the source for comparison was a copy from that time kept in the Czech Museum of Music under a call number XI E 89. The second source was used for bassoon parts that are missing in the first print (see below). 

Symphony in A major was composed before the date of its first publication, 21 November 1787. It consists of four movements. The first movement Allegro moderato is composed in a sonata form. The introductory two-measure motif that carries a distinctive rhythmical, melodic and dynamic contrast, runs through the whole movement and Koželuh explores it fully. The second motif, emerging in the 16th measure is also exposed to a rhythmical contrast. Reprise (measure 108) begins unusually by introducing the major topic in the secondary tonality. It passes into the major tonality somewhat later in the 121st measure. The second movement Poco Adagio uses a three-part form and is written in D major. Its middle part is composed in D minor. The movement musically comes out of a single idea. The middle part does not bring a new theme and thus it seems almost monothematic. The third movement, Menuet and Trio, has a usual relaxed character. The fourth movement, Finale, Prestissimo, is a simple great rondo with coda and a minor middle part. Separate parts do not contrast much with one another and the usage of the minor tonality is the most distinguishing element. The whole movement builds upon the main introductory theme. The sentence is composed in a brisk tempo of 6/8 measure, using the fast movements of sixteenth notes parts. Such a type of a simple great rondo was very popular at that time. 

Parts only for hire at nakladatelstvi@rozhlas.cz 

Other compositions by Leopold Koželuh published in Czech Radio:
Symphony no. 5 in G minor (ed. Eva Čierna - Tornová)
Symphony no. 6 C major (ed. Eva Čierna - Tornová) 

instrumentationob I, II, fg, cor I, II in F, vni I, vni II, vle, vlc, cb
publ.NoR 346
price320,- CZK

Downloadable Catalogues

    Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
    © 1997-2019 Český rozhlas