Project27. března 2010, 0:05  

George Cremaschi: Nearly Last Breath

George Cremaschi

George Cremaschi

Nearly Last Breath (for Birgit Helene Scheib)

A train ride in a blizzard.
What do you think?
You should come.
Vienna, so beautiful in winter.
Plans for the future, a cruel hope.
What do you think?
No answer.

Originally a short piece commissioned by the San Francisco contemporary music
ensemble sfSound for an evening of new short works, from the beginning I had the idea of expanding the musical material into a longer piece at some point. However, my original ideas for this Radiocustica work were something completely different. As I worked on them in the fall of 2009, I moved more and more in the direction of Nearly Last Breath, and finally I realized that this was the time for the expanded version, especially since I was planning a trip to California in December, and would be able to record with my friends in sfSound, who this music was originally written for. All of the
music derives from a single simple melody, which I harmonized, and then removed the melody, leaving a series of chords. I then wrote another simple melody from those chords, harmonized that melody with a different set of chords, and removed that melody as well, giving me all of the final musical material. The first electronic section is built from the last chord of the preceding section, with each individual instrument being run through a simple granular synthesis program. The second electronic section was made with two analog oscillators. 

With Kyle Bruckmann: oboe; Matt Ingalls: clarinet, bass clarinet and contrabass clarinet;
John Ingle: soprano, alto and baritone saxophones; Matthew Goodheart: piano; and
Kjell Nordeson: percussion. 


George Cremaschi: Nearly Last Breath

Vložit na svůj web

Autor:  George Cremaschi_eng

Nové články v rubrice

  • Oct 31, 2018, 10:00 PM       rubrika: Project

    Marek Piaček: Rivers, human, bridges

    The composition Rivers, People and Bridges (Rieky, ľudia, mosty / Řeky, lidé, mosty) is an electroacoustic composition inspired by the unique genius loci of two Central European cities, Bratislava and Prague, and their rivers, the Danube and the Vltava. Its basic sound material includes recordings of the real audio environment of five of Bratislava’s and five of Prague’s... th anniversary of the establishment of Czechoslovakia, as the common republic of the Czechs and the Slovaks. It was commissioned by Czech Radio for its programme called PremEdice Radioateliéru.

  • Sep 26, 2018, 10:00 PM     Audio  rubrika: Project

    Alexandra Cihanská Machová: SENTIMENTAL

    Sentimental is a series of three compositions, which are connected both through their thematics, as well as according to compositional approaches. They have been composed over the period of past three years using wide...

  • Aug 29, 2018, 10:00 PM     Audio  rubrika: Project

    Vendula Guhová: Huffing and Puffing of the Subconscious

    The composition immerses itself in the human body and its internal processes, into places that huff and puff, bubble and cough. It focuses on the internal ferment and looks for poetry in the “low”, the concealed and...


Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
© 1997-2018 Český rozhlas