Extraordinary Concert with Alexander Liebreich

Alexander Liebreich - Foto: Sammy Hart

Alexander LiebreichFoto: Sammy Hart

Rudolfinum, 29 October 2017 at 7:30 p.m.


Pavel Haas: Study for Strings
Dmitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No 4 in E minor, Op. 98 

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Alban Gerhardt – violoncello 

The attractive programme will get underway with Study for Strings, which Pavel Haas – probably Leoš Janáček’s most famous pupil – composed in Terezín in 1943. (Karel Ančerl, a future principal conductor of the Czech Philharmonic, also performed it there.) We will enjoy Alban Gerhardt’s cello virtuosity on Concerto no. 1 in E-flat major by Shostakovich, which was written for the legendary Mstislav Rostropovich and became one of the pillars of the cello literature. The special concert at the Rudolfinum’s Dvořák Hall will reach a climax with Brahms’ Fourth Symphony, a classic of German Romanticism. 

Ticket prices: 440 / 390 / 350 / 310 / 180 / 100 CZK 

The 2017 Czech-German Cultural Spring is a cross-border cultural initiative by the German Embassy in Prague, the Goethe-Institute in Prague, The Czech-German Fund for the Future and the Czech Centres in Berlin and Munich in cooperation with the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.



Deutsch-Tschechischer Kulturfrühling 2017 | Botschaft der BRD Prag | Goethe-Institut | Deutsch-Tschechischer Zukunftsfonds


Opening concert

The Radio Symphony and its principal conductor, Ondrej Lenárd, teamed up with Jan Mráček, one of the...

Mobilní verze | Podmínky užití | English
© 1997-2017 Český rozhlas

Tento web používá k analýze návštěvnosti soubory cookie. Používáním tohoto webu s tím souhlasíte. Další informace